Text Size:
Decrease font size
Increase font size

News

2013 Holiday Calendar

May 15, 2012 | In General

News

2013 Holiday Calendar

The State Personnel Act provides all State employees a holiday schedule that cannot exceed 11 paid holidays per year, except in those years in which Christmas Day falls on a Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday – when the schedule allows 12 paid holidays. For 2013, Christmas Day falls on a Wednesday; therefore, we have three paid holidays at Christmas (a total of 12 for the year).

UNC System institutions are also allowed to adjust the dates of the annual holidays to accommodate the academic schedule. Traditionally, UNC-Chapel Hill has moved only the State’s Veterans Day holiday into the winter break period (between Christmas holiday and the New Year’s (Eve) holiday period). For next year, 2013, the University will observe Tuesday, December 31, as a holiday in lieu of Veterans Day.

It is noted that some departments have essential work that must be done on designated holidays. SPA employees who work on holidays are paid holiday premium pay, in addition to hour for hour compensatory time up to 8 hours.

The 2013 holiday schedule is as follows:
* New Year’s Day — Tuesday, January 1, 2013
* Martin Luther King Jr. Day — Monday, January 21, 2013
* Spring Holiday — Friday, March 29, 2013
* Memorial Day — Monday, May 27, 2013
* Independence Day — Thursday, July 4, 2013
* Labor Day — Monday, September 2, 2013

* Thanksgiving — Thursday, November 28, and Friday, November 29, 2013
* Winter Break — Tuesday, December 24, Wednesday, December 25 and Thursday, December 26, 2013
* New Year’s Eve — Tuesday, Dec. 31, 2013

If you have questions, please contact your Benefits Consultant. You can search for your department’s assigned Benefit Specialist using HR Connect (http://hrconnect.unc.edu/); select the topic, "Benefits Questions."