Skip to main content
Carol Folt, UNC Chancellor
Chancellor Carol Folt, on behalf of the 10 million citizens of North Carolina, thanks honorees for their service to UNC-Chapel Hill.

On Monday, April 9, 2018, the Division of Workforce Strategy, Equity and Engagement hosted the annual Carolina 20-Year Service Appreciation Banquet at the Carolina Inn.

The banquet, which honors UNC-Chapel Hill employees who have given 20 years of service to the University and State, acknowledges the reliance that Carolina places on faculty and staff to support and further our mission in serving as a center for scholarship and creative endeavor for the State of North Carolina.

Attendees were welcomed by Chancellor Carol L. Folt, and the event was hosted by Felicia A. Washington, JD, Vice Chancellor for Workforce Strategy, Equity and Engagement. Honorees and their guests enjoyed dinner, followed by appreciation remarks delivered by Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost Robert A. Blouin. Blouin applauded UNC-Chapel Hill employees’ “strong spirit of collaboration” that makes Carolina one of the top public universities in the country.

Event Photos

This year, 184 new members were inducted. Inductees included:


Larry Gallo, Jr.
Greg Gatz
Chris Harris
Michael R. Perkins

College of Arts & Sciences

Tina CoyneSmith
James T. Mahaney
Susan B. Maloy
Daniel R. Anderson
Karen M. Booth
Roberto Camassa
Regina M. Carelli
Andrea Hussong
Gregory Kable
John Papanikolas
Meredith Petschauer
Roberto G. Quercia
Karla Slocum
Todd Taylor
Janis Carter
Wendy Pender


Mark M. Meares

Finance & Operations

Sandra J. Burnette
Tom Bythell
Todd Carroll
Tammy D. Cheek-Cotton
Jill Coleman
Joel D. Cook
Mayra Cruz
J. Laurence Daw
Chip Fehr
Sharon Goldston
Teresa Y. Golson
Larry D. Henry
Gordon O. Joyner, Jr.
Scott Lorbacher
Edward N. Mann
Sherwood L. McLamb
Amy Preble
Mark Thomas Sillman
Bo Smith
Jennifer Younger Stallings
Terry L. Tripp
Lawrence Twiddy
James C. West
Phillip G. Winston
Jimmy R. Wood

Graduate School

Medelia Stambach

Information Technology Services

Yaping Du
Bettie V. Furr
Lawrence N. Heimer
Malisa C. Lipscomb
Debbie B. Page
Jesse Aaron Safir
Dennis Schmidt
David A. Smith

Office of the Provost

Kenneth A. Brockway
Nelia Resendes Cooper
Michael Johnson
Frank Lewis
Whitten P. Windham


Gisele M. Crawford
Dana Brown Haine
John Donald Hobart
Crystal W. Fulcher
Niels Lindquist
Bridget Riordan
John Spencer
Edwin E. Van Duinen

Kenan-Flagler Business School

James W. Dean
Jeffrey R. Edwards
David G. Ernsthausen
Wendell Gilland
Kyle Gray
Kelly W. Hammond
Sandra Hedrick
John Hurt
Karen McFarland
Jana Raedy
Heidi Schultz
Albert H. Segars
Valarie Zeithaml

School of Dentistry

Debra D. Curry
Eric P. Gilchrist
Matthew L. Hopfensperger
Gidgetta E. Jenkins
Russ Levy
Becky Edwards Lewis
Veronica A. McClain
Valerie A.  Murrah
Tamara L. Partin
Connie Sercy
Sherri Tate
Thomas L. Ziemiecki

School of Government

Gregory Scott Allison
Jill D. Moore
Dale Roenigk
Richard B. Whisnant

School of Media and Journalism

Ferrel Guillory
Tom Linden

School of Law

Robin Council
Eric A. Helms
Alice B. Isley
Joseph Kennedy
Kimberly L. Vasbinder

School of Information and Library Science

Brian W. Sturm

School of Medicine

Marco A. Alemán
JoEllen Barnhardt
Rebecca Star Batts
Kristen Michelle Boyt
Jane H. Brice
Ali S. Calikoglu
Lisa A. Carey
Keith M. Cochran
Danielle P. Cockrum
Frances Collichio
Tamera Coyne-Beasley
Lisa Crabtree
Sandi Davis
Amy L. Durr
Matthew G. Ewend
Bradley N. Gaynes
Quintel Henry
Alan P. Hoyle
Robby Dean Knight
Silvia M. Kreda
Robert Krysiak
James L. Larson
Rebecca L. Mabe
Sara M. Malone
Cara F. Marlow
Sheila J. McQuaig
Prema Menezes
Donna G. Moon
Pamela M. Morrison
Jon Oberlander
Lawrence E. Ostrowski
Susan Pedersen
Ravindra Prasad
Cherie L. Price
Randee C. Reid
Carla M. Ribeiro
Arlene Seña-Soberano
Sue Tolleson-Rinehart
Swarooparani Vadlamudi
Catherine Vorick
Jennifer C. Wilder
David A. Wohl
Ping Ye

School of Nursing

Ann M. O’Hale
Shielda Glover Rodgers
Suzanne M. Thoyre

Eshelman School of Pharmacy

Angela Kashuba

Gillings School of Global Public Health

Paul Barrett
Steven Cory
Susan T. Ennett
Claudia Plaisted Fernandez
Robert J. Letourneau
William E. McGee
Alexis Anne Moore
Charles L. Poole
Kimberly B. Ring
Jeffrey A. Simms
William A. Sollecito
Miroslav Styblo
Karl E. Umble
Vaughn Mamlin Upshaw
Haibo Zhou

School of Social Work

Mary Beth Hernandez
Marty Weems
Sheryl Zimmerman

Student Affairs

Michelle S. Camarena
Sharon M. Frye
Corey McCabe
Ion V. Outterbridge

Summer School

Michael Smith

University Libraries

Rachel Canada
Jeffrey D. Campbell
Lynne Mohrfeld
Judith M. Panitch
Timothy Shearer
Doug Sirls
Jason Tomberlin

Workforce Strategy, Equity & Engagement

Linc Butler
Megan R. Keefe

Comments are closed.