Skip to main content

The State of North Carolina has established the following award programs for employees:

Governor’s Award For Excellence

The Governor’s Awards for Excellence Program is designed to acknowledge and express appreciation for outstanding accomplishments that do not fall entirely within the scope of normal duties, but are in the nature of a major contribution reflecting credit on the person and State service. The meritorious service or accomplishment is so singularly outstanding that special recognition is justified.

Nominees must be permanent State employees, including managers and administrators, who are Subject to the Personnel Act (SHRA). Universities have the option to include faculty and administrators who are Exempt from the Personnel Act (EHRA). This program does not include elected officials, university chancellors or employees with the public school or local community college systems. Nominees should have made major contributions reflecting credit on themselves and State service. The services or accomplishments must be so outstanding that special recognition is justified.

John R. Larkins Award

The John R. Larkins Award is presented each year to a North Carolina state government employee who best exemplifies the deeds of John R. Larkins in human and race relations in the workplace and community. The award recognizes state government employees who are committed to equality for all, are dedicated to serving North Carolina citizens, and promote social responsibility in racial and ethnic relations.

Nominees must be permanent North Carolina state government employees with a minimum of 2 years of service. A panel selected by the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Observance Committee will judge each entry. The John R. Larkins Award recipient will be announced at the annual State Employees’ Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Observance Program and John R. Larkins Award Ceremony.