Skip to main content

UNC-Chapel Hill participated in the statewide Check. Change. Control.TM blood pressure awareness program offered from February 2 through June 1, in partnership by the American Heart Association, the NC State Health Plan, and the UNC-Chapel Hill Office of Human Resources.

During the four-month program, UNC had 118 employees monitor their blood pressure each month, resulting in the more participants than any other state agency, school, university or community college offering Check. Change. Control. at their workplace.

Total WellBeing would like to thank each schools and divisions that volunteered to establish a blood pressure station at their workplace:

  • Campus Recreation, Laruen Mangili
  • Kenan-Flagler Business School, Jessica Flemming
  • Sonja H. Stone Center, Javier Jaimes-Ayala
  • School of Education, Latisha Johnson
  • School of Pharmacy, Angela Lyght
  • Gillings School of Global Public Health, Bryan Andregg and Penny
  • School of Medicine, Dept. of Anesthesiology, Joe Ormond
  • Collaborative Studies Coordinating Center, Lori Bateman
  • Finance & Operations Service Center, John Covely
  • Building Services, Maynard Torain Jr.
  • Environment, Health & Safety, Mary Crabtree
  • AOB, Jessica Pyjas

Special thanks to the Office of Human Resource and the NC State Health Plan for their support and assistance with providing 7 on-campus and 5 off-campus blood pressure stations available for employees to use during the workday.

Congratulations to grand prize winner of the Fitbit Blaze, Karressa Overbey, from the Office of Human Resources and the many monthly winners for their committed their health. Prizes included salad containers, fruit infuser water bottles, stainless steel tumblers, and T-shirts.

  • Ceresa Aberg, Office of Human Resources
  • Rose Saulsbury, School of Dentistry
  • Marietta Wagner, School of Medicine
  • Emmie Cole, School of Medicine
  • Eric Hodges, School of Nursing
  • Douglas Guthe, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Joy Patterson, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Meriem Alqoh, Office of Human Resources
  • Monique Tuset, School of Social Work
  • Angela Lyght, School of Pharmacy
  • Christina Pomykal, School of Pharmacy
  • Tommy Simmons, Environmental Health and Safety


Comments are closed.