Skip to main content

Manager of the Year & OELD award winners

University Managers Association (UMA) announced the 2022 Manager of the Year and the Outstanding Encouragement of Learning and Development (OELD) award winners at its annual meeting May 26, 2022.

Manager of the Year Award

This award is sponsored by the University Manager Association and is based on University career accomplishments, both within and beyond normal job responsibilities, or a specific accomplishment made within the previous twelve months that has been of major significance. The specific accomplishment cited may be within or beyond the nominee’s primary area of responsibility. With the exception of current UMA Board members, nominations are open to all permanent, full-time managers with two or more years of University service. For more information, visit the University Managers Association webpage.

2022 winner | Beverly Loftin, Business Officer, Department of Physics and Astronomy
Beverly Loftin began her career at UNC-Chapel Hill in the Department of Physics and Astronomy in March 2007 as the HR Manager. In September 2009, she promoted to the Business Officer in Physics and Astronomy and has served the department in that role ever since. Before coming to UNC-Chapel Hill, Beverly was the General Manager for Marx Industries and Prelude Foam.

Outstanding Encouragement of Learning and Development (OELD) Award:

Sponsored by the Office of Human Resources, this award recognizes supervisors and managers who facilitate employee professional development.

2022 winner | Karlina Matthews, Associate Dean for Administration, UNC School of Medicine
Karlina Matthews, MBA, is the Associate Dean for Administration at the UNC School of Medicine (SOM). She has been with the SOM since 2002 and currently oversees all administrative practices as well as the SOM Offices of Human Resources, Information Technology, Space Planning, and Professional Service Contracts and Affiliations. She works closely with leaders across UNC-Chapel Hill, the UNC Medical Center and UNC Health to accomplish organizational goals and support employees.

Congratulations to these managers on their dedication to Carolina workplace excellence. Nominations for the 2023 awards will open next spring.


Comments are closed.