Skip to main content

Dear UNC Faculty and Staff,

The UNC System Staff Assembly is sponsoring two exciting opportunities to promote professional development for University staff and to recognize exceptional service.

Please consider nominating one of our outstanding staff members for the Erskine B. Bowles Staff Service Award for excellence in serving the University and surrounding community. Additionally, we encourage staff members to apply for a JRB Memorial Staff Scholarship to support education that furthers professional development.

Award details, nomination information and deadlines for both opportunities are below.

Erskine B. Bowles Staff Service Award

Established in 2010 by the UNC Staff Assembly, the Erskine B. Bowles Staff Service Award recognizes employees whose accomplishments are consistent with the goals of the University and its public service mission.

The ideal recipient must be a permanent staff member (SHRA or EHRA non-faculty) of any of the 17 UNC constituent institutions, the UNC System Office, or a recognized University affiliate and should:

  • Exemplify excellence in their professional interactions and customer service within their university employment.
  • Provide extraordinary service to their campus and UNC system outside their job description.
  • And provide exemplary service to their surrounding community.

The recipient of the award will receive a memento, a $1,000 award, and recognition from the Staff Assembly and UNC leadership.

In order to streamline the nomination process, the only required documents are:

  • Completed nomination form (including narrative details for each of the selection criteria).
  • Accompanying letter of recommendation.

Additional support material (letters of support from supervisor(s), peers, administration or community members; news articles from campus or local news sources) are highly encouraged, as they can considerably bolster the nomination. Successful nominations provide supporting documents that leave no doubt about the individual’s merit.

Anyone from our campus (faculty, staff, friends, volunteers) can submit a nomination, so we encourage you to share this information as widely as possible!

Nominations close Friday, Nov. 11, 2022! To learn more about the nomination process, selection criteria and previous recipients, see the Erskine B. Bowles Staff Service Award page of the UNC System Staff Assembly website.

Janet B. Royster (JBR) Memorial Staff Scholarship Fund

The Janet B. Royster (JBR) Memorial Staff Scholarship Fund was created in August of 2011 by the UNC System Staff Assembly in memory of UNC-TV employee Janet B. Royster. The scholarship fund is designed to help a UNC employee become a more effective employee, in either the applicant’s current position or in preparing the applicant for promotion within the UNC System.

This scholarship provides assistance towards earning a degree or other professional certification and can be applied to the cost of tuition, fees, books, or registration fees. Awards are not automatically renewable from year to year; interested parties must apply each year. Scholarships this year are $500.

To be eligible, an applicant must:

  • Be a permanent, full-time, non-faculty employee of the UNC system.
  • Submit a complete application, which includes indicating the cost of the program or class.

The application deadline has been extended to Monday, Oct.31, 2022. For more information about the application process, materials required, and factors considered and to access the application form, please visit the Janet B. Royster Scholarship page of the UNC System Staff Assembly website.

Thank you for helping us recognize the University’s outstanding staff!


Becci Menghini
Vice Chancellor, Human Resources and Equal Opportunity and Compliance


Comments are closed.